New fiction series & updates on NY resolutions

The novel has been been put on hold for now. I need to do more reflection on my past. There are still many dark corners I haven’t explored. I need to do a bit more growing and maturing before I can write these memoirs.

I have started writing a fiction series. The overall series will titled “Sex & Weed.” I think it’ll be categorized as New Adult in the Romance genre. At first, I was just getting to know a new character I’d been thinking about recently. I created her background and decided on all of the major character flaws/virtues she possesses. The story just came from there. There are so many of her stories that I want to tell so I believe this will end up being a series with 5 or more books. I’m planning for each book to be about 10,000 to 15,000 words for the first draft. I’ll probably end up cutting that in half before publishing.

I am pleasantly surprised by this new turn of events in my writing, but I’m also nervous about it. I’m unused to writing fiction (haven’t done it since high school) and I fear I am rusty. My dialogue is shitty and my transitions are awkward. I’m going to keep writing though and just have faith that eventually I’ll get better. Practice makes perfect and though it’s silly to strive for that, it’ll always be my goal.

In other news- I quit smoking cigarettes today. I also tried to color my hair pink last night but the dye didn’t stick to my hair. It did, however, stick to my skin so I have pink hands and a pink forehead. I’m hoping I can scrub that away before I am forced to go into public.

It is also my one year anniversary working with my company! I don’t think I’ve ever had one job for a consecutive 12 months. I’ve always quit around the 9 months mark. Usually, I’d quit the job for 6 months or less and go back to it for another 9 months (I’ve done that twice).  My work history is less than stellar, but I can easily see myself doing this job for another year or two. I knew when I got hired last year that I would work here for a long time. This job works for me.

This year has already been good and I want to make the rest of it even better. I created a long list of resolutions for 2013:

1. Write every day.

2. Eat twice every day.

3. Go out of my way to learn something new every day.

4. Get out of my comfort zone once a month.

5. Follow budget & payment schedule to get myself out of debt.

6. Adhere to cleaning to schedule.

7. Finish one writing project.

These are some really big goals. Number 1 is still going strong, which makes me very happy. That one is the most important, by far. Number 2 has been… okay. There were a couple of weeks at the end of January that I wasn’t eating twice every day, but I’m definitely doing it now. Since I’ve been sick, I’ve really made an extra effort to take care of myself.

Number three basically got thrown out the window on day 1. It wasn’t properly articulated and I lost interest. Kind of the same for number four, but I think that was more like me chickening out. My first goal on that one was to watch a really scary movie. I couldn’t even manage that! Oh well, maybe by the end of the year I’ll be brave enough.

The great news is that number five is going very well. I have made significant progress on bettering my financial situation and March will be a big month on this front. I am very excited! Number six is also going fairly well, though when I’m sick, I’m much more lazy. I plan to get back on track during this month. Lastly, number seven… well, I’m getting there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

